Texas | Product Liability
Legal Question
product liability
I am a plumber. If I install a water line and it later fails due to no fault on my part am I liable for more than replacing the defective line.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Charles Williamson |
Re: product liability Depends. There is the concept of "foreseeable damages" in contract law. It simply means that if certain damages were reasonably foreseeable (in turn, means if another plumber of your skill level would have foreseen them), then you can be held responsible for them. Say, for example, if the pipe that burst was hanging over some inventory that would be wiped out if it came into contact with water, and you knew this (or was advised of it), then if that pipe bursts, you could be held liable not only for replacing the burst pipe, but also for the damaged inventory. Hope this helps. |
Top Attorneys in TX
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Brashear Law Firm, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 923
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Burdick Law Firm
Alton, IL
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-06
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Cheng Copeland PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 419
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-24
Mathis & Donheiser
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 394
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-29
Charles J. Williamson, Attorney At Law
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 325
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-20
Pfister & Associates
Frisco, TX
Questions Answered: 229
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-10-10
Search Questions and Answers


