Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Texas

homestead

My husband &I are buying a house from an owner. It's a 23yr note and we been paying on it for the last 19yrs.The payment includes insurance and taxes.Now the guy we are buying has been calling for 3 months wanting us to sign the papers for homesteading.He says he wants to save us some money but I don't believe him.For one he is money hungry and he just wants us to sign like idiots without reading the papers.Can you please help me thanks!

Asked on 7/18/08, 9:46 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cheryl Rivera Smith The Smith Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: homestead

I am not sure what he is up to. You get your homestead exemption by applying the county assessor's office. Don't sign anything unless you have an attorney review the documents.

Read more
7/18/08, 6:57 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now