Legal Question in Workers Comp in Texas

Hi,

I work in a non-subscriber hospital and hurt my back 12-31-12 at work. I have not worked since, and am on our "workers comp", and am going to have to have surgery on my back as a result. I have been getting my paychecks, which are direct deposited, but recently they held my check for 5 days, saying they "forgot" to pay me. I have worked there for many years and this is the first time in all those years that they didn't deposit my check. It caused me $390.00 insufficient check charges, as well as a reconnection fee for gas and electricity which were cut off when I couldn't pay on pre-arranged payment schedules due to no paycheck being deposited. Now, I am also late on my house payment and will have late charges due to paying check fees and reconnection fees for utilities.

Is there some agency, possibly a state agency, that can help me recover this money from my employer? One to which I can also report my employer for this? My employer has a reputation for treating their employees unfairly, and not caring about any of us.

I would be so grateful for any assistance you can offer me. Thank you so much.

Asked on 3/23/13, 4:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Donald McLeaish McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No quick remedy..but you should contact a local personal injury lawyer

Read more
3/24/13, 5:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Workers' Compensation Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Workers' Compensation Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now