Utah  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
10/28/03, 2:53 pm

Legal Question


Are adults legally responsible for debts incurred as a minor

When my stepdaughter was 17, she incurred over $8000 in medical expenses to have her baby at a hospital in Utah. The hospital received a pre-authorization from her father's insurance before she was admitted. Subsequently, the insurance denied the claim. My stepdaughter is now 20, and the hospital has filed suit against her in court for payment. My stepdaughter's stance is that since she was a minor at the time, she couldn't legally enter into a contract with the hospital and therefore cannot be held responsible. The hospital maintains that medical costs are an exception, and she can be held responsible. Who is correct?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search