Legal Question in Family Law in Utah

I am a 75 year old woman. I have been living in Utah with my significant other. ALthough we were not officially married we have been living as husband and wife for five years. I recently got sick and went to my daughter's house in Colorado so she could help me get better. While I have been in Colorado his adult children have made plans to move me out of the house and told me they have received council to not allow me back in- not even to get my personal items. Is this legal and what are my rights?

Asked on 9/20/13, 11:26 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alvin Lundgren Alvin R. Lundgren, L.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If he has given his children power of attorney or guardianship over him, they can do it. Otherwise as long as he is competent your significant other can decide for himself.

Read more
10/07/13, 8:07 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Utah

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88099 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now