Virginia | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
How do you know which type of bankruptcy you should file for?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Daniel Press |
Consult with an experienced bankruptcy lawyer, who should be able to advise you. Generally, it depends on what you want to accomplish. If you want to cure a default on a secured claim (mortgage), or strip off a lien, you need to file Chapter 13 if you are eligible, or Chapter 12 (if you are a farmer), or Chapter 11 if your debts exceed the Chapter 13 limits. If you just want to discharge your debts and get a fresh start quickly, and don't need to strip liens or cure defaults, then a Chapter 7 may be better, if you meet the income qualifications (most people do). If you are a farmer, Chapter 12 may be for you, and if you have substantial real estate debt, or the debtor is a business entity that wants to reorganize, then Chapter 11 may be the only option. There are a number of other factors that go into this, so as I said, see an experienced bankruptcy lawyer. If you wish to discuss this with us, feel free to call or email. |
Top Attorneys in VA
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of Paul B. Ward
Vienna,, VA
Questions Answered: 677
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Regency Legal Clinic
Virginia Beach, VA
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-09-08
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Sawyer & Azarcon, P.C.
Fairfax, VA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-17
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Bromberg, Rosenthal, LLP
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-09
Search Questions and Answers


