Virginia | Technology Law
4/15/10, 1:56 pm
Legal Question
Is putting a picture of a minor from Google illegal?
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
No, why should it be? (Assuming the minor is properly clothed.) |
|
Read More Answered By: Edmund Burke |
Whenever you post photographs on the Internet (your question isn't clear but assuming this is what you want to do), whether it is of minor or anyone else, there are two sets of rights involved:
1. Copyright. The photographer owns the copyright in the photograph, absent a transfer of copyright ownership to someone else.
2. Right of privacy or right of publicity of the person who is photographed. If you use someone's photo for commercial purposes, they may have a right to control it or ask for payment for the usage.
But your question doesn't contain enough information to really answer this question. The fact that it is a minor doesn't seem to make a lot of difference. |
Alexandria,
Questions Answered: 20732
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Lynchburg, VA
Questions Answered: 934
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-03
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-09
Springfield, VA
Questions Answered: 64
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-13
Ashland, VA
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-12
► What does possession of a firearm in the commission of a felony mean
► Whats the case law for computer harassment? and whats the grounds for filing a...
► I am owed $3,500 from a web hosting company that we do business with. They are...
► I created a website for my former employer and it was beneficial to the company for...
► My next door neighbor has installed a video camera on the roof of his house. I could...
► I performed a design service for a client. Several of our email communications...
► I serve as president of the homeowners association in my community. 'Jane', a former...
More Computer & Technology Law questions and answers in Virginia| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press