Virginia | Construction Law
Legal Question
can i put a mechanics lean on a property and still sue the contractor for the monies owed
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
Yes, you could file a mechanic's lien up to and including the amount still owed by the owner of the property to the general contractor and still sue the general contractor. Va Code Sec. 43.7
You would not be entitled, however, to recover more than what is actually owed to you on the part of the general contractor. |
Top Attorneys in VA
Attorney & Counsellor at Law
Alexandria,
Questions Answered: 20732
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Ruth Emily Kochard, Counselor at Law
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 415
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-21
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
The Law Office of Susan E. Allen, PLLC
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 96
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-23
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Bromberg, Rosenthal, LLP
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-09
Robert H. Smallenberg, P.C.
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 16
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-08-27
Metropolitan Law Center, PLC
Ashland, VA
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-22
Dunlap & Grubb, P.C.
Winchester, VA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


