Legal Question in Criminal Law in Virginia

If a judge has represented me in the past as my attorney.( 2 years ago) and I came in front of that same person now the judge. would that person the judge have to recuse themself from the case .

In the state if Virginia USA.

Asked on 7/23/10, 6:52 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Erin Ranney Erin L. T. Ranney, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Generally they should want to if they remember who you are. They would want to avoid the "appearance of impropriety".

Read more
Answered on 7/23/10, 9:57 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now