what are the laws in virginia for reconsideration after trial?
1 Answer from Attorneys
For a misdemeanor you have 10 days from the date of conviction to appeal the case to the Circuit Court where it is re-tried. If it is outside that 10 days there are motions that can be filed - it depends on the circumstances. If it was a Circuit Court trial there are a variety of things that can be filed for reconsideration on sentencing etc. It is all very situation-driven.
Related Questions & Answers
If I end up changing attorneys during a case, Is the old attorney obligated to keep... Asked 7/09/10, 10:28 am in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Can I file for (Virginia Code Section 18.2-63) carnal knowledge if it's been 7 years... Asked 7/08/10, 9:03 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law
I cannot find this information anywhere. I am supposed to go to court as a witness... Asked 7/08/10, 8:01 am in United States Virginia Criminal Law
I was charged with Grand Larceny for stealing from my employer. During my initial... Asked 7/08/10, 1:37 am in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Is a convicted felon ever allowed to handle a working firearm, even if it is a black... Asked 7/07/10, 4:48 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law