Legal Question in Criminal Law in Virginia

My son was as a friends house and the police showed up to search the house with no warrant, but the mother gave them permission to search. They pulled my son aside and searched him as well and found a very very small amount of marijuana on him. They gave him a summons for possession. While there his phone rang and when he took it from his pocket to turn it off, they took it. The officer said to remind him to give it back before he left. When he asked for it back the officer asked if he had any text messages on it from his friend and then kept the phone. Can they use any of the text messages against my son?

Asked on 1/11/13, 6:16 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Not beyond the realm of possibility (in my opinion).

Your son needs an attorney ASAP.

Read more
1/11/13, 6:29 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now