Legal Question in Criminal Law in Virginia

is there a statue of limitations on conviction date and how long they gave to issue a capis and arrest you

Asked on 8/10/13, 8:30 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

In Virginia the statute of limitations for misdemeanor crimes normally extends

12 months from the date of the alleged commission of the crime.

For felonies there is no statute of limitations and a capias could be issued for your arrest years after the crime was committed.

Read more
8/11/13, 8:30 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now