Legal Question in Criminal Law in Virginia

stolen checks were cashed by someone who signed my name on the check claiming to be me. The stolen checks were from Social Security and another from Tax refund. they were cashed with out i.d. since the person cashing the checks was a friend of the person who cashed them. do I have legal action and what is the statue of limitation

Asked on 6/27/13, 8:34 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Assuming the felony of uttering (forging a payee's signature on a negotiable

instrument), there is no statute of limitations on felonies in the Commonwealth.

Read more
Answered on 6/27/13, 9:27 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now