Legal Question in Discrimination Law in Virginia

I am an african american male. I work at a resteraunt and they allowed me to bring in a radio to listen to . We usually listen to country music but the other day i decided after asking everyone else if i could listen to hip hop music noone had a problem with it . Then the president of the company came in asked whos radio it was and oicked it up and threw it on the floor twice . I then asked him why he did that and he said cause the music was inapprpriate to him . He refused to pay me for the radio and told me if i wanted to keep my job i would just let it go . is this legal

Asked on 8/16/12, 4:45 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The destruction of your radio as alleged, no; the ultimatum that this company honcho allegedly made to you, yes (in my opinion).

Read more
8/16/12, 7:35 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now