Legal Question in Discrimination Law in Virginia

I was just terminated from my job about a month ago. To be upfront, I put in time for a day I did not come in. Now, my problem is, the guy (my co-worker) that went to the supervisor with this information did this because he was upset with me, and to make it a little interesting, he did this a month and a half after the underlined incident took place. Which brings the fact about that he knew what I had done, and did not tell it because we were friends. They terminated me, and nothing happened to him. Now, had he went to the supervisor voluntarily with this information, I could accept them letting me go, and doing nothing to him, but this is not the case. As I explained to my supervisor, had he not gotten upset with me, he would have never said anything, and I'd still have my job. Therefore, I feel like my coworker was just as guilty as I was, because he was an accessory to this incident. He's white, I'm black. The person that terminated me was the guy that that got my coworker the job. There's so much more to this, it's ridiculous. It's not about money, it's just that I know that I was done wrong. Do I have a case based on the little information provided above?

Asked on 12/05/11, 11:52 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, unfortunately, not one that you could win on these facts (in my opinion).

Read more
12/06/11, 6:31 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now