Legal Question in Family Law in Virginia

My fiance and I have been raising his 7 year old son for the past 4 years. His birth mother has only seen him once since we got him. How can my fiance go about terminating her parental rights as an absent parent.

Asked on 2/25/13, 12:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Beard Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The only way he can have her parental rights terminated is to marry someone and then can file an stepparent adoption petition.

Read more
2/25/13, 1:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8812 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now