Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Virginia

Landlord/Tenant

I rented a house to two tenants. One tenant vacated the house two months into the lease. I've filed an unlawful detainer, listing only the tenant still living in the unit, because of multiple breaches of the lease. We've already had an initial court date, which was contested. My question is by not listing the other tenant, will that have an effect on what happens on the next court date? I don't know where the other tenant went.

Asked on 12/08/08, 12:31 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Landlord/Tenant

You should amend the warrant to include the absconding tenant(even if you only have his or her last known address).

Read more
Answered on 12/08/08, 5:32 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now