Virginia | Personal Injury
Legal Question
A car was stolen from a car rental company and immedately recovered by the Police, and placed in their compond lot. It was later stolen from the Police compond lot and was involved in a fatal Hit-and-Run accident twelve days later. Two of the three suspects were apprehened and pleaded quilty to a lesser charge of "Hit-and-Run passenger even though one earlier admitted that he caused the accident. He was also indentified by the other suspect as the driver, but refused to testify. Through the seven months court proceduers, the Prosecuting Attorney did not mention that the car was stolen. The family of the victim's family was told by the investigating Officers and the Prosecuter that the car was stolen from the rental company, not the Compond lot. The rental company says that the City(not them) are responsible. My question is: Can the City be sued for neglience for not properly securing the vehicle? ( PLEASE DO NOT ANSWER THIS QUESTION IF THEIR IS A COST) I'M ASKNG FOR A FREE ANSWER!


