Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Virginia

Home Sell without Authorization

Home was purchased, 6 years later, we found out that the party selling the home wasn't legally authorized to sell the home. Now, we are unable to sell the house for profit.

The mortgage company has taken over taking payments from the existing renters.

Who do we hold accoutable for not verifying that the people who sold us the house were in fact authorized to sell us the home?

Do we rate the return of all the money spent on repairs done to the home over the years, the original closing costs for the purchase of the house, the principle and interest paid to the mortgage company who loan us the money for the home?

This is obviouse a major issue and has been ongoing for a year.

The mortgage company wants to help by allowing us to sign papers deleting us from the original mortgage but they take over the property in terms of collecting rent.

We are out the original closing costs plus all labor and expenses to upgrade the home as well as principle paid on the balance of the loan as well as 6 years worth of interest paid on the loan.

Who should we focus on regarding our losts?

Asked on 1/08/08, 2:20 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Strupp Robert J. Strupp,Attorney at Law, PLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Home Sell without Authorization

I believe you should seek legal counsel. You may have title claims as well as other causes of action.

Read more
1/08/08, 2:49 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now