Virginia  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
7/08/09, 9:22 pm

Legal Question


Employment/discrimination

My girlfriend was told she was ''not dressed fashionable enough'' and that she should ''wear more jewelry'' as well. The reason her female manager gave her for the request was that the male regional manager had asked her to ask her all female staff (odd in its own right since this is a shoe store, not a strictly women's store) to do so. The manager chose to pull her aside and ask her alone to do so after the group announcement. She was angered and discomforted by the request. Does this constitute harassment or discrimination of any kind? If so, could legal action be taken?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search