Virginia | Social Security Law
Legal Question
Disability for a 15 year oid
My daughter receives Social Security because her dad is retired. She has juevenile diabetes and legally blind in one eye. Could she qualify for disability?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jerry Lutkenhaus |
Re: Disability for a 15 year oid You can apply for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) for your child. This is Welfare Disability. It pays a maximum of $643.00 per month. She may be eligible for this in addition to the Disabled Child Social Security she receives if this benefit is less than $643.00 per month and she has no other source of income and no assets. (IT IS WELFARE). SSI may deduct the shelter you are providing her in addition to the Social Security benefit she is already receiving which may present an obstacle.
She is already receiving disabled child benefits. Social Security considers her SSDI benefit as a “child’s” benefit because it is paid on a parent’s Social Security earnings record.
These benefits are payable if he or she is disabled before age 18 which is your daughter's case and you are receiving Social Security Retirement benefits.
SSDI disabled adult “child” benefits continue as long as the individual remains disabled. Your child does not need to have worked to get these benefits.
I have been recognized in Richmond Magazine as one of the Best Attorneys in Central Virginia. I have been rated "AV" by Martindale-Hubbel, its highest rating.
|
Top Attorneys in VA
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
James E. Bowman PLLC
Ashland, VA
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-12
Heard & Smith, LLP
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-07
Law Office of Tara Candela, R.N., Esq., PLLC
Alexandria, VA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-03
Ritchie Law Firm, PLC
Harrisonburg, VA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-10
Mary G. Commander, Attorney At Law
Norfolk, VA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-09-07
Frank Haskell, III
Upper Marlboro, MD
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-01-21
Dunlap & Grubb, P.C.
Winchester, VA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
The Law Office of Dwayne B. Strothers
Suffolk, VA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


