I recently received a ticket for fraudulent inspection sticker in VA, 46.2-1173. What kind of fee and or other penalties can I receive?
1 Answer from Attorneys
As a first time offender under the Va. Code Sec. which you've cited,
if convicted of the third class misdemeanor offense, you could be fined up to
$500 + court costs.
However, as a second or subsequent offender you could then (if convicted of this now class 1 misdemeanor offense ) be subject to the imposition of a jail sentence of up to 12 months and a fine of $2500, either or both. (See Va Code Sec.46.2-1171.)
Related Questions & Answers
Hi i got a traffic ticket for inattention . As per officer, when i was turning left,... Asked 4/19/13, 11:58 am in United States Virginia Traffic Law
Can the law tow my vehicle on private property if I was pulled over and they gave me... Asked 4/19/13, 10:18 am in United States Virginia Traffic Law
I was in a car accident but wasnt driving,should I get a driving violation? Asked 4/14/13, 10:19 pm in United States Virginia Traffic Law
If you buy a used car as is and within 60 days the motor throws a rod thugh the... Asked 4/10/13, 5:07 pm in United States Virginia Traffic Law
I received a reckless driving ticket in Reston Virginia on route 267, doing 89 in a... Asked 4/08/13, 7:35 am in United States Virginia Traffic Law