Virginia | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My father passed away in Dec 2009 without a will. His sister passed away 9 days before him without a will. My father did not have any money in his accounts and co-owned his home with my brother. There was no reason to open an estate for my dad. Now we have found out his estate is going to inherit money from his sisters estate.($25,000) My dad only had 2 beneficiaries. Do we have to open an estate or can the personal rep of my aunts estate just issue a check for 50% of my dads inheritance to each of us?


