Wisconsin  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
10/23/07, 10:31 am

Legal Question


Land/lord lease agreement

I have a lease signed that starts on Nov. 1st. I relocated to Wisconsin about a two weeks ago and the place where I have a lease agreed to get me moved into the unit in mid October and I would pay partial rent for the month without a lease. When I arrived the unit was not available as promised. They put me in a smaller unit that was available. Thye now stated that I can not go into the unit until my lease starts on the 1st. The amount of rent I paid for the half month I did not have a lease was equivalant to 1/2 a month of the rent for the unit I leased. I have overpaid because the unit I am in is significantly smaller. Also, my company relocated me and the movers can not come any later than a week before my official lease starts. I don't know anyone here so I am either going to have to hire movers or attempt to move everything myself. What options do I have for recoping some of the inconvenience and cost of this. On the check I wrote for the half month, I did write the unit # of the apartment I was supposed to have and the leasing person had me write in the other too. Can I deduct the cost of hiring movers as well as the overpayment for the half month for my first months rent if its reasonable. What can the owner do if I do this?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search