Legal Question in Technology Law in India

Sir ,

We are students of a renowned college.We have opened a FB interest group page .Considering the name of the college as -XxxxYyyyyZzzzz.the page was named XYZ-ABC-DEF.Where XYZ is not the actual registered name of the college but a known abbreviation of it and ABC-DEF is an official student elected body of the college.It was to facilitate queries for newcomers.

At no part of the page we have declared ourselves as official or deliberately tried to be devious except for the use the abbreviated name of college which otherwise wont come in related searches.

A senior personnel of a college has requested us to restrain our activities which we objected as this a FB page on a public forum .

Hence we have a query sir.Cant I open a FB page called Indian Railways lovers forum or Delhi Transportation Complaints box etc which does not exist already (especially when I have not in any part of the page said that -We are the official page etc..)just because it includes a name of a registered firm ?Can the firms ask us to delete our page or take legal action against us??

I personally dont know if this comes under civil or IP law.Kindly excuse.



Asked on 6/02/14, 12:41 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Fca Prashant Chavan Expert Edge LLP


Dear AM,

Yes, by mentioning the name of the institution with a suffiz, you are still violating and infringing on their legal rights and you ought to refrain from doing so as it may entail legal action taken against you.


Read more
Answered on 6/02/14, 6:40 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Computer & Technology Law questions and answers in India