Legal Question in Intellectual Property in India


I received a NDA-Agreement by an American firm that included the following section:

(bold parts are the focus)

[...] Confidential Information includes:

(a)[...] design, formula, device, pattern, concept, art, method, process, machine, manufacturing method, composition of matter, computer program, software, firmware, source code, object code, algorithm, subroutine, object module, schematic, model, diagram [...]

So I will basically be doing some programming for this firm and since English is not my first language and I am not familiar with American contractual law, my question is the following:

Is this paragraph worded to broadly? I mean I can not gaurantee that I won't use parts of the code in other projects / for other customers. It will not be like: "Here I give you the code that I also used for company ABC" but of course my programming career would be over if later I will not be able to use any parts of the codes for other projects.

I hope I was able to explain to situation well.

Kind regards

PS: Was not able to select the correct country in the drop-down, since it is not listed, apologies!

Asked on 3/27/21, 12:56 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

The clause is very broad and include everything. you have to be very careful before signing anything.

Read more
Answered on 3/28/21, 5:21 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in India