Legal Question in Intellectual Property in India

This is about a Hindu family, living in Rajasthan. I just want a quick advice/suggestion.

I m the eldest son of d whole family. My grandmother died on 25th July and after that my uncle wanted to divide the property.

My father is a govt employee, his younger brother looks after the property in the village, i.e, fields and houses/plots. The youngest one is serving in railways. Now, we have diverse fields and houses in the village, 2 houses & 3 plots for keeping livestock. 1 House & 1 plot is in the town where My family lives, me along with my mom, dad and younger brother and sister. Most of the property was purchased by my father, i.e, 65-75% but I don't know what is registered in whose name. Also, it doesn't matter what is in whose name as all were living together.

My simple question is whether the property will be divided equally between the three or will it be divided according to the investment made?

My grandfather did not leave much as he died in ill health.

I don't know why but my father wants to give a major portion of the property to my uncles.

Asked on 8/24/17, 3:33 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Ancestral and joint property will only divide

Read more
Answered on 9/02/17, 4:17 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in India