Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Nigeria

Good day, please I want to know what rights I have as a tenant. I am a student and moved into a building last month. It is a building filled with selfcons and the light is paid for by landlady. I asked about light and water and was told by the agent, a lawyer that water and light are okay. I told him I had suffered at the hand of this and he assured me it was fine. The next day which was a friday, I paid. I moved in on Sunday and there was no light, had to sleep at s friend's place. The light returned but was just there. After about a week there I went home and stayed about a month at home and got back a few days ago. The light issue's now worst and I don't even have up to hour of light on good days, other days it is total blackout. Opposite the house and around has light and at times the stores in front attached to the house. When it comes, it shakes then goes off. It is really bad and getting a generator and fueling it in this economy is bad. If it were to even be an hour of light I wouldn't mind but this is really bad. I do some online business that requires light and for the pass days I go to my friends place which is quite a distance. I can't even iron my clothes. I moved in with the notion that there was light and now this. Moving out is out of it, schools has began and places have been taken, also spent a lot on moving and decorating the room. Please is there any legal advice I can get, I believe the problem can be worked on as at times the landlady who lives beside us has light and her filling station where we pump our water tends to have light. I just need a way out of this as it is getting me frustrated. Awaiting your reply. Thank you.

Asked on 8/12/16, 1:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

1st Attorneys Nigeria 1st Attorneys

You have to start by looking at what your tenancy agreement says

Read more
Answered on 8/14/16, 6:59 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Nigeria