Legal Question in Criminal Law in Arizona

Can someone who has been charged with misdemeanor under county code violation be charged with federal crime for same thing? I exited the wrong door at an airport and was charged with a county code violation misdemeanor and paid the fine of $100. Now I got a letter from TSA investigating me for federal crime.

Asked on 2/27/16, 9:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

This question might involve concurrent jurisdiction. If the prohibited conduct is the same the conviction will result in double jeopardy prohibiting further prosecution for the same conduct.

Read more
Answered on 2/28/16, 8:18 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Arizona