Legal Question in Criminal Law in Arizona

I am interested in hiring an attorney who is familiar with Arizona's laws and regulations regarding the sex offender registry. I initially was convicted of a misdemeanor and required to register on the registry in California, but a petition was recently granted and my case was dismissed under penal code 1203.04, petition for expungement. Now that I am no longer convicted, I am working towards removing the requirement to register. I currently reside in Michigan but am moving to Arizona June 2017. Pending my success I would like to know my options once I move to Arizona. I also have several questions I am hoping you can answer. First if required to register can I have the level of registry lowered(was a level two in CA)? I am currently building a house with my fiance in a HOA, and am concerned with having to register, and the possibility of not being allowed to reside there due to the HOA regulations. Additionally, I am legally obligated to register even though I no longer have a conviction? I would like to know which level I would be categorized under?


Asked on 10/27/16, 12:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Brian Di Pietro Brian DiPietro Law, PLLC

I would suspect that if your conviction is vacated and you no longer are required to register under CA law than it is doubtful that you will be required to register in AZ.

Read more
Answered on 10/27/16, 4:23 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Arizona