Legal Question in Bankruptcy in California

Under 11 U.S.C.A. section 1325(a) what restrictions apply to lien-stripping secured claims in Chapter 13?

Asked on 8/21/15, 6:20 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Andersen Charles Andersen, Atty

Value of the property is the primary consideration. Many claims that are partially secured can be bifurcated, however you cannot lien strip a first principle mortgage on your residence. (San Francisco)

Read more
Answered on 8/22/15, 8:57 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in California