Legal Question in Consumer Law in California

I purchased two VIP tickets for a concert on Sept. 23rd, 2016. The website where I purchased the tickets told me that check in time was 3:30pm. As it turns out, it was 3pm, according to the House of Blues in Chicago when we called them, and by the time my fiancÚ and I could find a parking spot, we would not have been able to get inside for the VIP.

I contacted them recently and asked them for a refund since we were told by them that check-in time was 3:30 and thus, we missed our VIP (we didn't even use the tickets). The customer service representative, the same one who told us that check-in was 3:30, said unfortunately check-in was at 3pm, that it was on the order forms they sent us (there was no time of check-in or doors opening on the order form), and that the House of Blues told us the wrong time, after I told them we have the e-mail stating the website, not the House of Blues, was the one who told us the wrong time. I have since replied with emails and our orders, showing close to everything they said was factually incorrect.

More out of curiosity, are there violations they have made to us in regards to either Federal or California state laws since the website's HQ is in California? So far I can only say they made a false accusation against the House of Blues saying it was them who gave us false information when it was really the website that gave us false information.

The concert was in Illinois, but I am not sure if Illinois law applies to this case (my gut says no).


Asked on 9/26/16, 1:40 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services

Illinois law applies.

Read more
Answered on 9/27/16, 8:52 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in California