Legal Question in Education Law in California

recently my son has been getting suspended multiple times, he claims that he has nothing to do with events they accuse him of, but in case he is, is it legal for a school to suspend him for something he hasn't done? he gets teased at school and a lot of kids blame things on him and he got very depressed and started harming himself to the point of him self-mutilating himself and having to be placed on 5150. the principal seems to have a record of not investigating school incidents properly (i spoke with other parents and students) and when (the information was brought to the principals attention by my son before it took place) his classmate tried to perform a school shooting and my son is being asked to leave school, although the student who threatened to shoot everyone is allowed to continue this legal? can i sue? my sons only relation to the student is that he talks to him every now and then and he was assigned a seat next to him in computers

Asked on 4/24/12, 4:33 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Harrell W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law

Talk to your school board member. There may be a requirement that your son have a hearing to review the reasons for the multiple suspensions.

Read more
Answered on 4/24/12, 6:10 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Education Law questions and answers in California