Legal Question in Family Law in California

In California, if I borrow money to pay for the wedding and my fiance and I agree verbally to pay that down together, even though the debt is in my name and it was incurred before we got married, should we end up divorcing, am I on the hook for that, since it's technically debt incurred outside/before the marriage began?


Asked on 7/12/16, 11:22 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Kane Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.

You would be solely responsible as far as the creditor is concerned. You may have a claim against your husband, but that has nothing to do with the creditor

Read more
Answered on 7/12/16, 7:31 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California