Legal Question in Civil Litigation in California

My name is Roy. Our private camp ground opened. My son and I went fishing. The rule was that everyone needed to keep a social distance of 6 feet. It was evening we caught fish when a lady saw our catch and yelled over to her young boys on the other side of the lake to come on our side since they didn’t catch anything. I was holding my Boxer on his leash when one of the boys came to pet my dog. My dog felt on easy and bit him on his lip. Am I at fault? It would not have happened if the boy followed the social distance rule. Their are benches that are 12 feet from each other to use. The lady wants me to pay for the medical bills. No telling what els. It wasn’t like my dog ran op to him and bit him. Would appreciate your legal advise. My email

[email protected]


Asked on 6/08/20, 8:57 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Kane Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.

The purpose of social distancing has nothing to do with animals. Thus, I don't believe it's a defense.

Read more
Answered on 6/12/20, 8:13 am


Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in California