Legal Question in Intellectual Property in California

Greetings. I run a company that books and promotes live bands for small venues such as wineries, restaurants and private parties. I was hired and paid to book and promote bands at a local winery. After 3 years of booking/promoting, we couldn't reach an agreement on a new fee I was asking. We parted ways. The venue is now trying to book the bands/performers I brought to them through my company. My questions: Are the shows I brought to the venue the Intellectual Property/Work product of my company? If so, should that prohibit the venue from contacting and booking the acts without my express consent? We never had a written contract, but the venue was paying me directly for my services and the shows I created, using my stable of performers, for the past 3 years.

Asked on 4/27/17, 2:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Mitchell Interaction Law


Read more
Answered on 4/27/17, 8:35 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in California