Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

can an appartment charge a tennate fees after they lived in the unit for 1 1/2 years. and their lease is up and they are month to month. I had an apartment that i lived in for almost two years and i moved out and i did not get my deposit back they are saying i owe them an additional 267.00 on top of my deposit that they kept. they are charging me for carpet replcement that was fo the airconditiner that leaked on it the whole time time i lived in it and they never fixed it and when they did it made the house smell because the didnt fix the carpet and now they are trying to charge me for their problems and they are charging me for painting. they should not be charging for anything and they need to give me my deposit back i am lowincome and thats why they never fixed anything at that complex. i put in several maintaince orders and that were either partiacly done or never done. what can i do here

Asked on 6/24/10, 1:47 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Take them to small claims court.

Read more
Answered on 6/24/10, 8:05 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California