Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

My California Tenant destroyed my carpets installed Nov 2015. They are badly stained and torn and stink of pets. What percentage of carpet replacement can I deduct from her deposit? She lived here for nearly 5 years and left March 31.


Asked on 4/18/22, 1:56 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

Generally a landlord cannot charge to replace paint or carpets once a tenant has lived in a unit 10 years. So at 5 years, 50% would be reasonable.

Read more
Answered on 4/19/22, 9:24 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California