Legal Question in Real Estate Law in California

I inherited a home that belonged to my grandmother and my father I inherited my fathers portion as he is deceased my uncle inherited from my grandmother. I bought my uncle out at fair market value and my property taxes were re assessed even though I owned 1/2. Is this correct


Asked on 11/01/19, 2:18 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services

The reassessment is correct but the new assessed value should only apply to 50% of the taxes. The other half of the taxes should be calculated at the old value.

Read more
Answered on 11/03/19, 3:54 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California