Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in California

My father passed away last year on 8/26/2022, leaving a wife. He has 3 adult children and 2 adult stepchildren. Supposedly there was no will and no beneficiaries listed any 401k, life insurance, etc. so everything defaulted to his wife. I would estimate she got anywhere from $500,000-$600,000. Just recently we found out she is dying of cancer and has 6 months to live. Do we have any right to take her to court now knowing she is dying to get the money from my father's inheritance when she dies or does it automatically go to her children?


Asked on 7/21/22, 1:14 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

See previous answer to this question.

Read more
Answered on 7/22/22, 10:46 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in California