Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in California

A good close family friend passed away almost 6 years ago. He had no wife or children, only a niece he occasionally saw. Recently, memories in my mind resurfaced of my mother telling me years ago that i, along with my 2 sisters were in his will. She was very close with our friend, however she passed away 11 years ago as well. I was never contacted by anyone after out friends death regarding a will. I thought it to be a little strange that I was not. I feel as though his niece may have pressured him into something but I'm not certain. What would you advise to get to the bottom of this. Is it too late to take action? I live in California. Thank You, larry

Asked on 10/19/17, 3:03 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michele Cusack Pollak & Cusack

It is probably too late. Also, it doesn't matter where you live; law of the decedent's state of domicile controls.

Read more
Answered on 10/19/17, 7:57 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in California