Legal Question in Workers Comp in California

In October of 2011 I was in an accident at work. I fell off a ladder and had a LOC while hurting my shoulder, neck and back. I contacted a lawyer because my work, Macy's inc. tried having me return to work after the weekend. The lawyer took a month to get me into their doctor while during the mean time I was seeing a doctor from my companies Medical Network Provider (MNP). I have been seeing the law office doctor, which is out of network, and recently got a letter from Macy's Corporate services tell me that I will no longer be getting payed by them starting January 28th. Then today, 1/25/12, I got another letter from Macy's telling me my leave of absence is over February 2nd 2012 and to coordinate with my HR manager to return to work. I called my lawyer and they told me they were going to have me return to the original MNP so I do not lose my job. However they have 2 days to get back in with the MNP to continue receiving monies from the insurance. Also I am aware that my company is currently doing layoffs and I am affraid that if I do return I will lose my job and hence no more benifits regardless. So I am looking for advice. What to do? Since my attorney is a worker's compensation attorney I am not sure if I have the right attorney for a settlement at the end or not and whether or not I am going about this correctly. Please help.


Asked on 1/25/12, 12:49 pm

Experienced Workers' Compensation Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping injured workers all over California. We can help you recover for your injuries as a result of an accident at work. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Lupoff Law Offices of David B. Lupoff

It's best to meet with your lawyer ASAP to discuss the above issues.

Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 1/25/12, 2:47 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Workers' Compensation Law questions and answers in California