Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Connecticut


I rented a single family home in CT for 1 1/2 years. In the 8th month of renting, the supplied dishwasher broke. I offered to install the new one free if the landlord would purchase it. This was done without hassle.

On the 14th month of renting, the supplied washing machine broke. It was fairly old. I asked the landlord if she was replacing it or having it fixed. She stated that she did not have to fix or replace it, and that I needed to buy my own. After much deliberation, and inconvenient trips to the Laundromat, I went and purchased my own. I moved her broken washer into the basement.

I moved out, and we did a walkthrough together today. She told me everything looked great, and I did a fantastic job cleaning. She emailed me a few minutes ago with a letter stating that she was deducting $250 from my security deposit to replace the washer.

My view on this is that she cannot deduct for something she wouldn't have fixed or replaced 4 months ago, and I ended up purchasing my own.

Can she deduct from my deposit for this? Thank you in advance,


Asked on 6/19/15, 9:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Heffernan Heffernan Legal Group, LLP

She can't deduct for it. In fact, you could take it with you and put the broken one in the basement back where it was. I assume you have the receipts, etc.

Read more
Answered on 6/19/15, 11:33 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Connecticut