Legal Question in Constitutional Law in Florida

Would some one please settle this debate between a friend and myself. He believes that here in America, a state attorney or state prosecutor can orally charge a defendant with a felony offense without taking a oath or filing written charging information. I, on the other hand, hold that in order for the state attorney to bring charges against a defendant, he or she must do so under oath by way of written information.

Asked on 11/24/23, 9:13 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

I've never heard of felony offenses being charged without a writing, but this isn't my field of practice.

Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 11/27/23, 7:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Constitutional Law questions and answers in Florida