Legal Question in Consumer Law in Florida

I had a leak start in a bathroom over two months ago. Mold, water stains and mildew grew by leaps and bounds. I requested maintenance and they came and sprayed it with Kiltz. A week or so later, the mold, water stains and mildew came back. Again, they came and sprayed it with Kiltz. Not long after that, mold, mildew, water stains came back with a vengeance. I took pictures and sent them to the rental office. A few days later someone came in and replaced the drywall. A few days later, the mold, mildew, etc. was back AGAIN. This time they came in and tore out the wall, took out the toilet then promptly told me they did not have the knowledge of how to fix the leak that started it all. I had to wait for a plumber. They came the next day, no masks, no speaking, nothing. My bathroom was out of commission for three/four days. Maintenance came back the following week and worked for about 20-30 minutes then left. Came back the next day, same thing, 20-30 minutes. My bathroom is still a total wreck. I called last week and they said they would get someone back here to finish the work. Nothing. No one showed, no one called. I called again this week, again, NOTHING. Maintenance knocked on my door last night, told me he hadn't forgotten about me and that he would be here tomorrow (which is now today). I have not seen nor heard from anyone yet again. What are my legal options other than just moving out, which I cannot afford to do? Can I ask for my rent back for the two/three months I've been waiting for this to be repaired? I COULD move then.

Asked on 6/09/20, 10:09 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Philip Duvalsaint Philip A. Duvalsaint, PLLC

You could withhold rent. For more information see:

Read more
Answered on 6/09/20, 10:20 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Florida