Legal Question in Criminal Law in Florida

Predjuced by the local Public Defenders office.

In the beginning. The first public defender quit after doing nothing for 7 months except quit just before jury selection. Some critical evidence of my innocence was lost.I was not notified by her or the public defenders office.

The 2nd public Defender did very little in the last 9 months. Both just kept demanding extentions in spite of my demands to start jury selection asap. 2 times the new attorney was a "No SHOW" to court. I have a spotless background and always went to court in spite of my physical disabilities. The judge ordered the public defenders office to prepare for jury selection within 10 days. -October 29th. Later the public defenders changed it to Dec. 10th. but did NOT notify me. I have sent numerous registered letters to them demanding " No More Delays. No More Extensions. “. My life has been destroyed by the crooked system here that allows the public defenders to get paid for dragging out this wrongful accusations that have "NO Evidence”. The attorneys to get paid while I lost my grandson, my family and all my clients because it has taken so long to get in front of a jury where I am confident I can win with an attorney who does their job.

I feel the local public defenders are prejudice again me after I refused to take "their easy way out" and settle for a ridiculous offer by the state. They did NOT even notify me of the last court date Change from Oct to December. I was there, my attorney left before my case and I went to the Public Defenders office where I got proof they knew for over 3 weeks about the change but never notified me. After numerous calls and a phone meeting with her supervisor, she finally called me and said she was asking again for another extension and another delay in starting the jury trial and If I did not like it then I could fire her. I am honest but live on a small social security income below poverty level since the false accusations destroyed my life and business. I was told It could go on and on and for an unlimited amount of time and can not leave state until the trial is over.

I already tried to get a private attorney but my income is to low. I thought that is why the public defenders office was created. To provide legal representation help for honest, hardworking poor people like myself. There is NO Evidence of my ever breaking the law, put I am being prosecuted and punished without ever being given a jury trial.

What ever happened to INNOCENT until Proven Guilty when I am refused jury trial inspire of NO Evidence to support their charges?

Asked on 12/29/18, 12:21 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.

It's unclear what your question is but if I were you, I would contact the elected public Defender to see if there is anything they can do for your situation.

Read more
Answered on 12/30/18, 9:49 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida