Legal Question in DUI Law in Florida

I currently live in Florida and got my 3rd DUI in February of 2015 I have two other two duis in Pennsylvania back in 2009, I lost my license for 10 years. After 2 years I was eligible to get a hardship with an interlock device. (Court ordered) When I got out of jail I received a letter from Florida Department of Transportation about I'm eligible to get my license back in June of 2016. So I called the Florida Department of Transportation and they said I'm eligible to get my license now as soon as I finish DUI school, go to victim-impact classes and obtain an interlock device for 2 years. I am getting ready to go to Pennsylvania and I just called PennDOT and somehow I am still have a valid license in Pennsylvania. So my question is if I go back to Pennsylvania and get a new license (since they chop the corner of my Pennsylvania license off when I got my DUI in February) is it illegal to come to Florida and drive with an out of state license. My license plate still is a Pennsylvania license plate and my car is registered to a Pennsylvania address? And I thought Pennsylvania and Florida were connected but I'm honestly not sure how Florida is letting me get my license back, I'm assuming there was a mess up in the court between the courts and FDOT

Asked on 9/27/16, 5:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.

Until you get your Florida driving PRIVILEGES restored, you are not allowed to drive in Florida. If you get a license in another state, then you can drive in 49 other states, but not Florida.

Read more
Answered on 9/27/16, 7:01 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in Florida