Legal Question in Education Law in Florida

My son was enrolled in a #1 ranked college perparatory school in the state of Florida. Unfortunately, the school proved not to be a good fit for my son. After attending for 15 days we had to withdraw him from the school. Within those days, my son was called into the headmaster's office for participating in a conservation with another student during study hall and stopped by another teacher for singing to loudly to himself while walking to class. My son felt singled out and it began to effect him physically to the point of him becoming ill. We insisted that he continue attending the school until he ran away from home. We paid in full the this year's tuition and fees with every intention of him completing the year. The school contract stated that no refund would be giving for any reason. My question, is there any time line related to backing out of a school contract in Orange County Florida? or is there some other grounds for pushing for a refund?

Asked on 12/03/09, 2:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, McLaughlin & Whittemore P.A.

The contract controls. You can go ask, but your son took a "seat" that would have otherwise gone to someone else.

Read more
Answered on 12/08/09, 3:01 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Education Law questions and answers in Florida