Legal Question in Legal Malpractice in Florida

My minor son had an accident at a Publix store. I hired a large law firm to sue them. Ultimately, they did not want to file a lawsuit even though I felt strongly that they should. They ended up settling the case for much less than I was happy for. I've gone back and reviewed the release and noticed that mine and my husband's signatures were NOTARIZED, even though we did NOT appear before a notary. The notary was apparently an employee in the law firm. Do we have any recourse here? Can we reopen the case, as the release was not legally notarized?

Asked on 8/17/17, 8:14 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barry Stein De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary

Notarization of the release is not required to make it binding. The practice of notarizing a document that a client signs is routine for most law firms. You don't have any recourse to avoid the settlement.

Read more
Answered on 8/17/17, 2:17 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Malpractice Law questions and answers in Florida