Legal Question in Traffic Law in Florida

Hi I live in Florida. I unfortunately was t-boned coming out of a plaza. I had my left turn signal on, made a stop at the sign to crossover an intersection with 2 lanes, a medium and 2 lanes on the other side which is where I was heading. I saw a car at a good distance that turned their signal light to turn right, so I started out when he obviously didn't turn right into the plaza but kept going and hit me. I was cited for failure to yield! I had to go to the ER for pain, I have a good amount of front end damage on my 2002 Mercedes which only has 66,000 miles and I'm nervous about them possibly wanting to salvage my car because of the cost of the repairs. They also informed me that the other driver, who was a young man probably in his 20's with a "King of the road" etching on his front top glass and who luckily for him has basically no bumper damage has filed a claim and they are allowing him 90% and deducting 10% because he put his turn signal onto make a right turn and didn't! So are they giving him blame for this accident as well? If so then why am I to blame, he hit me!? I realize what the law says yield the right of way, but would never intentionally put myself in danger by driving out in front of a car I felt was going to continue instead of make the right turn. What can you advise I do, I have to pay this ticket, take a class, I have an appt with my Dr. because I still have headaches and spasms and in a little while my car will be towed to a collision shop?

Thank you very much

Asked on 7/13/18, 10:33 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.

Since the way judges handle tickets vary by county, you should get an attorney in your area. Further you may also want to talk to a personal injury attorney about the civil aspects of your case.

Read more
Answered on 7/18/18, 9:25 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Florida